Why I Code...

Why I Code...

We all have our own reasons for why we code. Some of us do it because we want to change careers, some of us do it so we can be challenged. I started my journey because of my children. Let me explain.

In 2018, I was working full time as a home health nurse, this included lots of time traveling from one patient's home to another. I started listening to podcasts to fill the hours of travel but also to learn new skills. I started listening to shows about the joys of homeschool. The more I listened, the more intrigued I became. I told my husband about all the things I was learning, he started listening too. After a few months, we were sold on homeschooling. But, we didn't know what we were doing, I took a while to research and find out what curriculum was available. After finding out what it took to withdraw our kids from the local school system, we pulled them out and haven't looked back. That isn't to say it hasn't been hard, or nerve wracking or trying at times. It has been that and a lot more, but there were some things I didn't know I would find rewarding.

First, I got to spend a lot more time with my children, I got to know them, really know them. We laughed together, they shared secrets with me, and because it was our first year homeschooling together, I would sit in with them during their online classes. We had decided the first semester to do some virtual schooling. I remember my kids even asked me to start a garden. I am a self-proclaimed plant killer. But my kids really wanted to try it and I was game, so I did start a garden. More about that in another blog. Back to virtual learning, I signed them up for a coding class. I sat with them listening to the instructor and I was hooked.

That day I started, and it was just so much fun! I was giddy that I could essentially create something out of nothing. It's just wild to me that a mom like me should even have anything to do with computers. Sure, I used them at work, but I did not think of myself as a techie.

Something no one tells you when you first dive into the tech space is how deep the rabbit hole really goes! It's like you think you are wading into the shallow end of a pool only to find out after two steps, you are diving into the Mariana Trench.

So why do I code? I have an insane drive to learn, my family jokes I will still be going to school well into my 80's! I hope they are right. Learning is fun, there is no way we will know it all and I love to create. Code does both of those things for me, learning and creating, that's why I code.