Delaying Gratification

Photo by Kai Pilger on Unsplash

Delaying Gratification

Let's be real, waiting to enjoy something really sucks! It's hard, you give up a lot during that timeframe and usually people that are close to you don't always understand or support you. And because we are such a microwave generation, we are used to getting what we want now. I mean think about it, a few years ago we wouldn't have been able to get pretty much any type of food delivered to almost anywhere we go. We can get things delivered from most stores, we can even go to a store and don't have to get out of our cars to get something we ordered two hours prior. With all that convenience who needs to wait?

But my parents would repeat a phrase while I was a child. Anything that is worth having requires work. As a kid, I didn't really understand that, it didn't make a lot of sense to me. Boy does it now! The things you have to work really hard for, sweat for, cry over, spill blood for, give up things you want to do for... those are the things that are most precious. I am in the throes of delaying gratification, because I see prize at the end. I am focusing on a specific goal, and it means I have to turn the TV off, and get up super early when everyone in the house is asleep and stay up late when everyone has gone to bed. It means I don't get to go to everyone fun event with friends, or speak on the phone for long periods of time. It also means, I don't get to scroll social and cuts into my time that I use for hobbies. Yes, it is painful, but I am doing it for an important reason. I don't want to forget that this is only temporary, it isn't forever. I encourage you to keep going, I know it's hard, and you are giving up so much, but in the end you will have attained something precious. For me it will be financial independence and knowing that I stayed the course and completed what I set out to do.